Main Trinidad Opposition To Side Step Certain Seats In Election


CaribWorldNews, PORT-OF-SPAIN, Trinidad, Tues. April 27, 2010: The United National Congress has announced it will not be contesting several seats in the upcoming election in Trinidad, choosing instead to allow several other opposition parties to run in those areas.

The National Executive of the United National Congress said based on the National Unity Negotiation Team`s talks with the Congress of the People (COP), the Movement for Social Justice (MSJ), the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) and the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC), the UNC will not contest seats in some 18 areas of Trinidad and Tobago.

Instead, COP will contest seats in Arima, Arouca/Maloney, D`Abadie/Omera, Diego Martin West, Diego Martin Central, San Fernando West, San Fernando East, Tunapuna, St. Augustine and Lopinot Bon Air. 

The NJAC will contest seats in Point Fortin, Laventille West, La Brea and Port of Spain South while The Movement for Social Justice will contest seats in Laventille East and Pointe a Pierre. 
The TOP will contest seats in Tobago East and Tobago West.

The NATEX also approved Colin J. Partap and Chandresh L. Sharma as additional candidates to contest the May 24th general elections as part of the UNC.

They join UNC leader, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Jack Warner, Dr. Roodal Moonilal, Dr. Fuad Khan, Winston Peters and Clifton De Coteau on the slate.

Next Post

Alleged Stanford Cohort Ordered Extradited From Antigua and Barbuda

CaribWorldNews, ST. JOHN`S, Antigua, Tues. April 28, 2010: The former head of Antigua and Barbuda`s Financial Services Regulatory Commission who allegedly worked as a cohort with accused Ponzi schemer R. Allen Stanford, has been ordered extradited. Leroy King was ordered Monday to be extradited to the United States to face […]